What is Green Mark certification?

The Green Mark certification scheme was launched in January 2005 by the Building and Construction (BCA) in Singapore. It is defined as a green building rating program that is established to assess a building’s environmental impact and performance. It offers a thorough structure for evaluating the overall environmental efficiency of both new and existing constructions, with the goal of advancing sustainable design and implementing optimal approaches in building construction and operations.

Who can apply for a Green Mark certification?

The Green Mark certification is open to a wide range of stakeholders involved in the construction and operation of buildings in Singapore. This includes developers, building owners and government agencies for new and existing buildings, districts, parks, infrastructure and building interiors.

Why should buildings secure Green Mark certification? 

Operational savings

Green Mark-certified buildings are designed to be energy and water-efficient. Implementing energy-saving technologies and practices not only reduces operational costs but also leads to long-term savings in utility bills.

Better health and well-being

Green buildings often prioritize indoor air quality, natural lighting, and comfortable environments. These features can contribute to improved occupant health, well-being, and productivity, making the building a more attractive option for both residents and workers.

Environmental responsibility

Achieving Green Mark certification demonstrates a commitment to environmental stewardship. By meeting stringent sustainability standards, buildings contribute to reducing their carbon footprint, conserving resources, and mitigating environmental impact.

Market advantage

Green buildings are increasingly favored by environmentally conscious consumers and tenants. Holding a Green Mark certification can enhance a property’s marketability and attractiveness, potentially leading to higher occupancy rates and property values.

Regulatory compliance

As sustainability becomes more central to building regulations, having a Green Mark certification can assist in meeting evolving environmental and energy standards, ensuring future compliance with potential requirements.

Innovation and reputation

Pursuing Green Mark certification encourages the adoption of innovative technologies and practices, setting a precedent for industry leadership. A certified building demonstrates a commitment to staying at the forefront of sustainable advancements.

What are the primary criteria for obtaining Green Mark certification?

  • Climatic responsive design
  • Building energy performance
  • Resources stewardship 
  • Smart and healthy building
  • Advance green efforts

What are the different levels of Green Mark certification? 

  • Green Mark Certified 
  • Green Mark Gold 
  • Green Mark GoldPLUS
  • Green Mark Platinum

What are the steps to obtain Green Mark certification? 

Step 1: Gather all the relevant supporting documents before submitting an online application. You can find which documents are required based on your project type by visiting  BCA’s website.

Step 2: Submit your Green Mark application online via the BCA’s online portal. The BCA will get in touch with you to conduct a pre-assessment audit, providing your project team with a comprehensive overview of the criteria.

Step 3: BCA will assess and authenticate the pertinent reports and supporting documentation to confirm that the building project aligns with the criteria’s intent and the desired certification level.

Step 4: Should your project fulfill all the criteria, a letter of award will be issued, followed by site verification conducted by BCA. Subsequently, your Green Mark certification will be granted.

Are there any fees associated with acquiring Green Mark?

The Green Mark assessment fees vary based on the project’s type and size seeking certification. For a detailed overview of the diverse fees, please refer to the BCA’s official website.

Earning a Green Mark ranking using uHoo Aura

An important aspect of the Green Mark certification is indoor environmental quality (IEQ). Indoor air quality, thermal comfort, ventilation, light, and acoustic standards are among the factors that are considered under this aspect. 

uHoo Aura, the most comprehensive indoor environmental quality monitor measures at least 13 factors affecting indoor environments. These factors include temperature, humidity, air pressure, carbon dioxide, carbon monoxide, formaldehyde, particulate matter (PM1, PM2.5, PM4, and PM10), TVOCs, light, and sound. The reliable data from uHoo Aura can be used for  documentation and communication during the certification audit. With this, facility managers can obtain information that demonstrates the effectiveness of the methods and practices adopted to improve the indoor air quality in the building. 

To learn more about the Green Mark points supported by uHoo Aura, click here.

How many buildings are certified under the Green Mark Certification Scheme?

As of August 2021, over 4,500 buildings in Singapore have received certification through the Green Mark Certification Scheme, encompassing a combined gross floor area exceeding 146 million square meters. This count encompasses both newly constructed and existing structures. By the conclusion of the year 2022, nearly 55% of the buildings in Singapore had undergone the green certification process. Singapore has set a goal to achieve a “green” status for 80% of its local buildings by the year 2030.

Are you ready to make your building Green Mark-certified? Let us support you through the process of acquiring and maintaining your certification! 

Spread the love